The first step.

1712081YESTERDAY I bought and read a book by a remarkable artist. Chris Ayers is a concept designer working in Hollywood, his film credits include, The Incredible Hulk, Alien vs. Predator, Fantastic Four and X-Men: The Last Stand. In 2005 he was diagnosed with leukemia, he subsequently received treatment and on his path to recovery, started a project, his project would be to draw an animal a day for a year. The results of which can be seen in his book The Daily Zoo a fantastic collection of drawings depicting a wide range of animals from bears to bison, each page beautifully illustrated.

After sitting down and reading the whole book last night, I was inspired, actually excited about the thought of starting a similar project myself, I don’t expect to reach the high standard that Mr Ayers kept up, but I’m going to have a damn good go at it, here is the start of my project, drawing number one… 364 to go. Gulp. I will be drawing anything and everything (not very good at animals, but I’ll certainly try to draw some) Wish me luck!

7 Comments

Filed under illustration

7 responses to “The first step.

  1. Haha – ^ that looks like Pat Unwin!

  2. Neil Harnett

    good luck mate :-)))

  3. bewick70

    Cheers Neil, going to be a hard slog I reckon πŸ™‚

  4. bewick70

    lol @Sean, maybe a little πŸ™‚ Was supposed to be the guy from Kings oF leon, not quite right though.

  5. oh.. and good luck πŸ˜‰

  6. Hello there!
    I came across your blog entry after googling my name just for kicks.
    Thanks for getting my book and posting the kind words on your site. Glad you enjoyed it and I wish you much luck and sharp pencils in your quest to do a drawing a day. I’m flattered that The Daily Zoo inspired you to start that! Your work is very nice – keep it up!

  7. bewick70

    Hi Chris!

    Thank you for the kind words πŸ™‚

    Your book is a huge inspiration, looking forward to book 2 (There is a book 2 isn’t there?!) I must admit it’s a struggle to do a drawing a day, I think the hardest thing i thinking what to draw!

    Will persevere and hopefully be posting some of the results up soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

