iPad therefore I am.


I KNOW, the title makes no sense, but it’s not easy coming up with a snappy title that contains iPad.

Anyway, I’d like to tell you how good the iPad is for art, it is amazingly versatile, from sketching to complete artworks. There are a wealth of drawing/painting apps out there for the iPad, the one I used for the illustration above was Brushes (£5.49) I believe David Hockney also used Brushes for his iPad paintings in his new show at the Royal Academy. Not that I am comparing myself to Hockney!

Along with the many and varied brushes and styles available, not to mention the ability to use layers, the main reason for me using Brushes is the ability to export the artwork to your Mac and then open it in Brushes Viewer to save at a much larger size, up to about a metre If a recall correctly, making it easily usable for glossy magazine illustrations. You can also create a video of the artwork in process, the video is saved as a Quicktime movie as is of a very good quality. Sadly as far as I know Brushes Viewer isn’t available for PC.

With the inevitable release of the iPad 3, which, apparently, has a retina display, I can only see art on the iPad gaining momentum. I can actually see myself doing more and more illustration jobs with it. 

Another thing I intend to try is sketching outside with the iPad, having watched David Hockney do this recently it has inspired me to try the same. So I intend to take my iPad out for a walk next time I’m in Scotland.
I know I’ve only mentioned the iPad in this article but it is by no means the only tablet out there. There are many available, I have no experience with them so don’t feel I can comment, but I would say get the one that best suits your needs.

So, if you have an iPad, or intend to get one in the future, I implore you to get creative with it. It’s also a lot cleaner that paint!
Below are my favourite iPad art apps.
Brushes (£5.49 iPad £2.99iPhone)
Sketchbook Pro (£2.99 iPad)
Procreate (£2.99)
Zen Brush (£1.99)

2 Comments

February 20, 2012 · 9:13 pm

2 responses to “iPad therefore I am.

  1. David Hockney is easily Britain’s best-known and best-loved contemporary artist. A new edition of his groundbreaking book Secret Knowledge will also be published by Thames & Hudson this autumn. –This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

  2. bewick70

    Hi, I’m not sure which text you are referring to?

Leave a Reply

